Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Home: WV United Methodist Archives

United Methodist Archives

Library Services Bulletin
In accordance with the WVWC Library Reopening Plan (issued July 24, 2020), the Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library will be CLOSED to all members of the general public and non campus-affiliated individuals until further notice. We apologize for the inconvenience, and will attempt to assist patrons remotely where possible.
Please e-mail requests to librarian@wvwc.edu.

Archive Use & Research Requests

Requests for information should be directed to Brett Miller. Visits to the archive are by appointment only and must be scheduled in advance. Because the archives are not regularly staffed, requests for information must be made in writing and should be mailed to the following address:

Brett Miller
United Methodist Archives
c/o Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
West Virginia Wesleyan College
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201

 

Email queries may be sent to miller_bt@wvwc.edu.

Researchers interested in visiting the Archives are asked to schedule an appointment prior to coming to campus.  Please contact the archivist at least 24 hours in advance to schedule a visit.  Such advance notice allows us to ensure adequate staffing and to pull relevant materials for easier access the day of your visit.

Digital Collections

West Virginia Methodist Conference Journals and Minutes

  • Methodist Episcopal Church (1848-1939) - Digitized/Available
  • Methodist Episcopal Church, South (1877-1879; 1885-1939) - Not Yet Digitized
  • Methodist Protestant Church (1877-1938 with gaps) - Not Yet Digitized
  • Evangelical United Brethren Church (1869-1968 with gaps) - Not Yet Digitized
  • Methodist Church (1939-1967) - Digitized/Partially Available
  • United Methodist Church (1968-present) - Not Yet Digitized

Starting in 2018, the West Virginia Annual Conference Commission on Archives and History, in conjunction with West Virginia Wesleyan College, began working to digitize West Virginia Conference journals and make them accessible to researchers. This project is ongoing, with new journals being added regularly.

West Virginia Annual Conference Collection

  • contains a variety of photographs and documents related to West Virginia Methodism
  • contains photographs of numerous church commemorative plates donated to the archives over the years

Methodist Archives Collections

The United Methodist Archives of the West Virginia Annual Conference contains a number of collections that document West Virginia Methodism, including (but not limited to):

  • Active/open church files
  • Closed/discontinued church files (for many, but not always all closed churches)
  • Conference journals and minutes
  • Books on WV Methodism and general Methodist subjects
  • Minister files (for many, but not always all ministers)
  • Periodicals and WV Annual Conference publications
  • Conference-level and District-level administrative records
  • Conference agency and organization records
  • Audio-visual materials documenting many Annual Conference sessions

Contact Us

E-mail general inquiries and reference requests to:
librarian@wvwc.edu

 

Library Circulation Desk Phone:
304.473.8013
Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201
304-473-8013
librarian@wvwc.edu