Skip to main content

Home: Special Collections

Jones Lincoln Collection

One of the highlights of the Library's Special Collections is the Jones Lincoln Collection. The collection contains printed works and artifacts related to the 16th president of the United States, Abraham Lincoln. It is the lifetime collection of Wesleyan alumnus Dr. Charles Aubrey Jones, who at the time of his death in 1974 had the third largest collection of Lincoln artifacts in the U.S. The Lincoln Collection was presented to the College by Dr. Jones' daughter, Elizabeth Jones.

The Jones Lincoln Collection includes more than 2,000 books, pamphlets, and handbills from Lincoln's political career. Among the most rare documents are campaign publications prepared by Lincoln's opponents in 1864 of which some are preserved solely at West Virginia Wesleyan College. Other unique items include two Lincoln autographs; international accounts of Lincoln's assassination; a Lincoln life mask; and other Lincoln statuary. Graphical materials include several photographs of Lincoln, and prints of his meeting with Union officers following the battle of Antietam in 1862.

In addition to standard biographies and political analyses, the books in the Lincoln Collection cover everything from a sketch of Lincoln's wedding to "Behind the Seams", a parody of a memoir by a Lincoln housemaid. A miniature book by Carl Sandburg, measuring only 1.75" x 2.5", is a favorite among visitors.  

Digitized materials from the Jones Lincoln collection may be seen on Pages in Time, the Library's digital projects archive.

The Lincoln Collection is available to scholars by appointment only with permission of the Director of Library Services, the College Archivist, the Cataloger, or the Reference Librarian. Arrangements for accessing can be made by emailing the library or calling 304-473-8013.

Rare Book Collection

The Rare Book collection is a non-circulating collection of materials that are of particular value due to age, rarity, binding, or edition.  This collection includes items from the Jones Lincoln collection, as well as other items of historical or cultural value.  Items in the Rare Book collection do appear in the library catalog, and users may request materials at the circulation desk.  Some items have restrictions on use or photocopying due to age and condition.  For more information on the Rare Book collection, contact the library.

West Virginia Collection

The West Virginia collection is a non-circulating collection of books and other materials intended to help support of the preservation and study of West Virginia history and culture.  This includes works by West Virginia authors, historical government documents, and other materials from and about the Mountain State.  Items in the West Virginia collection can be found in the library catalog, and interested users may request materials at the circulation desk.  Items must be used in the library, and photo ID is required for the use of West Virginia collection.  For more information on the West Virginia collection, contact the library.

Contact Us

librarian@wvwc.edu

304.473.8013

Text a Librarian: 304-460-1695

Staff Directory

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

YouTube

AskAMPLibrary Reference Chat

 

Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201
304-473-8013
librarian@wvwc.edu