Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About the Music Library
The music library at West Virginia Wesleyan College supports the curricular, research, and performance needs of the department of music, the School of Fine Arts and Humanities, and the entire campus community by providing access to both physical and digital resources in the discipline of music.
Though based in the music department, the music library is an extension service of the Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library. It serves as the primary repository for musical performance and research materials for the department of music. The music library's holdings are supplemented by music-related manuscripts and recordings found in the circulating and reference collection of the Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library and all music materials in both libraries may be located by searching the library's online catalog. While the is primarily used by students and faculty in the department of music, the collection is accessible to any member of the campus community.
Questions about the music library should be directed to Brett Miller, Music Librarian.
West Virginia Wesleyan College
Attn: Music Library
59 College Avenue
Buckhannon, WV 26201
L.L. Loar Hall
2nd Floor - Room 26
Brett T. Miller ('06)
304-473-8601 (main library)
Music Library Collections
The holdings of the music library primarily support the music curriculum and thus contain a large proportion of scores, recordings, and books related to classical music. The collection includes scores of the complete works of J.S. Bach, W.A. Mozart, G.F. Handel, Ludwig van Beethoven, and Frederic Chopin as well as numerous other works in both full and miniature score formats. The music library is currently working to increase its jazz and musical theatre holdings in addition to its already prominent classical collection. Some details of the collection:
- 1,550+ compact discs
- 7,000+ books and musical scores
- 100+ videos (DVD and VHS)
- 3000+ vinyl LP records
- Access to 20+ current and back-issue print periodical subscriptions
Furthermore, the music library provides access to music and music education-related electronic databases, including (but not limited to)::
Oxford Music Online
Account Requirements: no account is required to access content. An account may be created (must register with a wvwc.edu e-mail address) in order to save content and searches for future use.
Includes Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, and also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (revised 2011) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 6nd edition (revised 2013).
Naxos Music Library
Account Requirements: No account is required to access streaming content, but a free account (register using your wvwc.edu e-mail address) is required in order to access the Naxos mobile app, as well as to create and edit playlists.
Invaluable resource for music professionals and collectors. A wide range of standard and specialist repertoire are included. Contains more than 140,000 CDs and 2,200,000 tracks of music. Includes comprehensive liner notes, opera synopses and libretti, composer and artist biographies and other essential information for music scholarship.
Library Music Source
The largest collection of Western Classical sheet music ever assembled.Over 300,000 pages of sheet music from over 35,000 works including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven, to cite only a few examples.
IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 7686 texts including 1369 aria texts
Search 9 collections! Arts & Sciences I, II, II, and IV; Business Collection; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Science; Language & Literature Collection; Music Collection. Although coverage begins from volume 1, issue 1, there is a moving wall which generally blocks the most recent 5 years.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Educational Research and Improvement. ERIC is the largest education database in the world—containing over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
E-mail general inquiries and reference requests to:
Library Circulation Desk Phone:
||Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201