Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Marketing: Using Research Databases

Searching Marketing Literature

-You will generally be expected to find and use scholarly sources
-Scholarly articles, also called academic journal articles, are a primary part of the professional literature in marketing
-Scholarly articles are rarely found on the open web
-You will be expected to use the WVWC library to find appropriate resources for your work
 
Selecting Appropriate Library Resources
-know what type of information you need for your research - are you looking for background information on a topic, in-depth scholarly articles, demographic information, company profiles, news reports, statistics?
-familiarize yourself with library's database resources and the types of information they each contain
 
Developing Search Term Vocabulary
-consider your key words or concepts and write them down
-create a synonym chart to help identify other search terminology that may yield different results
Marketing Search Terminology Chart
Original Term Synonym/Related Term #1 Synonym/Related Term #2
brand choice brand loyalty

brand preference

consumer behavior customer loyalty consumer attitude

Keyword and Phrase Search Techniques

-use "AND" to connect search terms and make your search more narrow (e.g. - Microsoft AND profits)

-use "OR" to broaden search results for terms that are synonyms of each other (e.g. - market research OR consumer research)

-use "NOT" to exclude particular search terms from the results (e.g. - advertising NOT television)

-by placing a search term in quotation marks, you direct the database to do a phrase search rather than a keyword search. The database will search for the exact phrase in the exact order you specify (e.g. - "movie product placement" vs. movie AND product AND placement)

-a wildcard is a symbol that stands in for any letter of the alphabet. The particular wildcard symbol will vary from database to database (check the Help page for more information), but common symbols include *, #, ?, and $. (e.g. - wom#n would find women and woman)

-a truncation symbol is a type of wildcard that will search any number of letters. The most common truncation symbol is a *, but may vary from database to database (e.g. - market* research would find market research as well as marketing research)

Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201
304-473-8013
librarian@wvwc.edu