Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research for art courses can take many forms. You may need to find images of art works, video of art performances, or biographical information about particular artists. You might also need information on art movements or particular time periods. Or, it's possible you will need to find scholarly art criticism. The library provides access to an array of resources to help you navigate these diverse information needs.
Biography In Context
This database integrates award-winning biographies from respected Gale sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers, as well as tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites. Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor---based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text.
Search 9 collections! Arts & Sciences I, II, II, and IV; Business Collection; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Science; Language & Literature Collection; Music Collection. Although coverage begins from volume 1, issue 1, there is a moving wall which generally blocks the most recent 5 years.
Other Research Tools
Account Requirement: no account required to view content only; account is required (using wvwc.edu e-mail address) in order to create personal collections and save images.
ARTstor has collections of over 500,000 digital art images and associated data that can be used for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Images are international in scope and coverage includes a wide variety of civilizations, time-periods, and media.
Films on Demand
Streaming video for more than 26,000 films including:
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
Business & Economics Collection
||Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201