Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Literary Criticism
Resources for literary research may be found in books, reference collections, and academic journals. These databases will help you to identify many types of information resources to support your work.
Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis)
Primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to be able to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell. Includes LitFinder, MLA International Bibliography, Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Scribner's Writers Series, and Twayne Authors Online.
Search 9 collections! Arts & Sciences I, II, II, and IV; Business Collection; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Science; Language & Literature Collection; Music Collection. Although coverage begins from volume 1, issue 1, there is a moving wall which generally blocks the most recent 5 years.
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations are provided back to the 1920s and the database contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. Some links to full text are included.
Other Research Tools
Films on Demand
Streaming video for more than 26,000 films including:
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
Business & Economics Collection
Naxos Spoken Word Library
Account Requirements: No account is required to access streaming content, but a free account (register using your wvwc.edu e-mail address) is required in order to access the Naxos mobile app, as well as to create and edit playlists.
Contains the world's greatest literature - many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twenty-first century under various categories, such as Children’s Classics, Classic Fiction, Shakespeare’s Plays. New titles are added every month.
||Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201