Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly articles, also called academic journal articles, are the primary professional literature of the scientific disciplines. Scholarly articles are rarely found on the open web. You will be expected to use the WVWC library to find appropriate resources for your work.
Natural Sciences Collection
The Natural Science Collection includes the Agri & Env, Bio Science, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
An indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full text articles available from the BioOne organization. Provides a unique aggregation of over 160 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 123 publishers.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Sage Premier Journals
A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal content from Sage Publishing.
A leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year. Covers the areas of: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences. While some full text is available, Science Direct is primarily a citation database.
Other Research Tools
Enyclopedia of Life Sciences
Topics include: biochemistry, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution & diversity of life, genetics & disease, genetics & molecular biology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, plant science, science and society, structural biology, and virology.
Films on Demand
Streaming video for more than 26,000 films including:
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
Business & Economics Collection
Account Requirements: a free account (register using your wvwc.edu e-mail address) is required to access and use RefWorks.
RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool. It is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
This subscription product is the only reference management tool supported by the AMP Library. RefWorks is available for use by students, faculty, staff, and alumni of WVWC.
||Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201