Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Literary Criticism
Resources for literary research may be found in books, reference collections, and academic journals. These databases will help you to identify many types of information resources to support your work.
Gale Literary Sources (formerly Artemis)
Primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. Search across centuries to be able to see the broader continuum of the story you choose to tell. Includes LitFinder, MLA International Bibliography, Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Scribner's Writers Series, and Twayne Authors Online.
Search 9 collections! Arts & Sciences I, II, II, and IV; Business Collection; Ecology & Botany; Health & General Science; Language & Literature Collection; Music Collection. Although coverage begins from volume 1, issue 1, there is a moving wall which generally blocks the most recent 5 years.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Other Research Tools
Films on Demand
Streaming video for more than 26,000 films including:
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
Business & Economics Collection
||Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201