LibGuides: Career Planning and Internships: Online Resources for Finding Opportunities

Library Career Resources

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
A comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice. Known for its unprecedented depth of coverage, this comprehensive career research database is organized into three main sections: through Industries and Careers, users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions; Plan Your Education helps users find the schools that fit them best; and Launch Your Career offers solid advice to help users perfect the skills that beget success.
Learning Express Library
Account Requirements: a free account is required to access all content. Register for an account using wvwc.edu e-mail address only.

Access Note: Choose Learning Express Library from the WVInfoDepot database list.

Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want -- at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? Help is here. If you have an eye on graduate school, you'll find practice tests for the GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and more.
Chronicle of Higher Education
The No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.

Job & Internship Sites

Struggling to find job and internship possibilities? This list of available resources will help you identify valuable resources for locating job and internship opportunities across a wide range of disciplines and careers.

CenterLink (Community of LGBT Centers)
CenterLink's Job Board shows current job openings at LGBT community centers as well as other organizations and institutions whose work is closely related to the needs and interests of LGBT communities.
CoolWorks
CoolWorks focuses on summer and other job opportunities that are focused toward students. The advantage here is that these are paying positions that might still help you advance your career possibilities.
Diversity Employers
DIVERSITY EMPLOYERS/IMDiversity was conceived by THE BLACK COLLEGIAN Magazine, which has provided African-American college students with valuable information on career and job opportunities since 1970. DIVERSITY EMPLOYERS/IMDiversity is dedicated to providing career and self-development information to all minorities, specifically African Americans, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, Latino/Hispanic Americans, Native Americans and women.
Glass Door
Glassdoor is primarily a job site, but it does index intern postings as well. Search for intern or internship to see available positions.
Idealist
Idealist is a hub for those interested in activism and non-profits. It includes a section on internships as well as job searching.
Ihispano
The iHispano mission is to provide the Latino community with a trusted professional network, which pairs members with employers who are serious about building a diverse workforce to meet the needs of an increasingly diverse customer base. - See more at: http://www.ihispano.com/about-us#sthash.QU9116xi.dpuf
International Studies Internship Opportunities
The Kellogg Institute for International Studies maintains this list of internship opportunities in international studies and political science.
Internship Programs
This is internship database is sponsored by a company that helps individuals with career branding and marketing.
Internships.com
Internships.com is a subset of the Chegg company (the textbook rental people), and it is specifically focused on student internships.
Job & Internship Resources from the Dartmouth Center for Professional Development
The Center for Professional Development provides access to a wide range of resources, including links to specific resources to highlight opportunities to embrace diversity in seeking opportunities.
Jobs for Women
Jobs for Women features the latest well-paying job opportunities for female job seekers from companies who are dedicated to inclusion and diversity hiring.
LookSharp
LookSharp offers access to more than 50,000 internship and entry level job opportunities. Users must create a free account to use the service.
Monster.com
Well-known as a job search site, Monster's advanced search options include the ability to search for internship opportunities.
The Muse
The Muse is the only online career resource that offers a behind-the-scenes look at job opportunities with hundreds of companies, original career advice from prominent experts, and access to the best coaches to get personalized and private career help.
NASA Internships
Internship opportunities for students interested in the American space program.
Out & Equal
Out & Equal Workplace Advocates educates and empowers organizations, HR professionals, ERGs and individual employees through programs and services that result in equal policies, opportunities, practices and benefits in the workplace regardless of sexual orientation and gender identity.
Professional Diversity Network (PDN)
Professional Diversity Network (PDN) is the exclusive and selected partner of leading professional and community-based organizations offering employment opportunities to their diverse membership.
United Nations Internships
For students interested in international studies, political science, and related fields, the United Nations offers a range of internship opportunities in the United States and around the globe.
The Washington Center
Based in Washington, D.C., the the Washington Center offers internship opportunities for students in a wide range of majors and professional interests.

Career Planning and Internships: Online Resources for Finding Opportunities

While in no way comprehensive, these links can help you get started exploring available opportunities.

Library Career Resources

Job & Internship Sites