Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Addiction: Topic Page
State of dependence caused by frequent and regular use of drugs, alcohol, or other substances. It is characterized by uncontrolled craving, tolerance, and symptoms of withdrawal when access is denied.
Alcoholism: Topic Page
Disease characterized by impaired control over the consumption of alcoholic beverages.
Amphetamine: Topic Page
Any one of a group of drugs that are powerful central nervous system stimulants. Amphetamines have stimulating effects opposite to the effects of depressants such as alcohol, narcotics, and barbiturates.
Cocaine: Topic Page
Alkaloid drug derived from the leaves of the coca shrub. A commonly abused illegal drug, cocaine has limited medical uses.
From Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
The clinical consequence of any excess dose of a drug (e.g., of a self-administered, potentially lethal dose of a drug of abuse, an antidepressant, a nonnarcotic pain reliever, or other medication).
Heroin: Topic Page
opiate drug synthesized from morphine (see narcotic). Originally produced in 1874, it was thought to be not only nonaddictive but useful as a cure for respiratory illness and morphine addiction, and capable of relieving morphine withdrawal symptoms.
From Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
A hallucinogenic (psychedelic) agent that has been a drug of abuse as well as being used experimentally as an adjunct to psychotherapy.
Marijuana: Topic Page
The dried leaves and flowers of the hemp plant, used for its euphoric effects, especially in the form of cigarettes.
From Black's Medical Dictionary, 42nd Edition
Derived from the Mexican peyote cactus, Anhalonium lewinii, this is a hallucinogen used for many centuries by Indian tribes in Mexico as an intoxicant to produce ecstatic states for religious celebrations. In recent times its ability to produce temporary psychotic symptoms has been used to investigate the mechanism of PSYCHOSIS.
From Macmillan Dictionary of Toxicology
A widely abused drug; a sympathomimetic and central stimulant that has been used clinically as an anorectic agent. The use of methamphetamine and related drugs in treating obesity is, however, now generally discredited.
Opium: Topic Page
Substance derived by collecting and drying the milky juice in the unripe seed pods of the opium poppy, Papaver somniferum. Opium varies in color from yellow to dark brown and has a characteristic odor and a bitter taste.
Diagnosis and Treatment
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Any of a wide range of drugs used to treat psychic depression. They are given to elevate mood, counter suicidal thoughts, and increase the effectiveness of psychotherapy.
Drug: Topic Page
Any of a range of substances, natural or synthetic, administered to humans and animals as therapeutic agents: to diagnose, prevent, or treat disease, or to assist recovery from injury.
DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
The DSM is a manual outlining diagnostic criteria for psychiatric disorders, published by the American Psychiatric Association.
Electroconvulsive (ECT) therapy: Topic Page
In psychiatry, treatment of mood disorders by means of electricity; the broader term is "shock therapy.
From The Concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
Gestalt therapy is an existential and phenomenological approach, emphasizing the principles of present-centered awareness and immediate experience.
Group psychotherapy: Topic Page
A means of changing behavior and emotional patterns, based on the premise that much of human behavior and feeling involves the individual's adaptation and response to other people.
Hypnotism: Topic Page
[Gr.,=putting to sleep], to induce an altered state of consciousness characterized by deep relaxation and heightened suggestibility.
Psychoanalysis: Topic Page
Name given by Sigmund Freud to a system of interpretation and therapeutic treatment of psychological disorders.
Psychological test: Topic Page
Any of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.
Psychopharmacology: Topic Page
In its broadest sense, the study of all pharmacological agents that affect mental and emotional functions.
Psychotherapy: Topic Page
Treatment of mental and emotional disorders using psychological methods. Psychotherapy, thus, does not include physiological interventions.
From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
Valium (diazepam) may be used for the management of anxiety disorders or for the short-term relief of the symptoms of anxiety.
||Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201