Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature of Athletic Training & Exercise Science
You will generally be expected to find and use scholarly sources as a student in the School of Athletic Training and Exercise Science. Scholarly articles, also called academic journal articles, are a primary part of the professional literature of these disciplines. Scholarly articles are rarely found on the open web. You will be expected to use the WVWC library to find appropriate resources for your work.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 520 journals. This authoritative file contains the full text for many of the most used journals from 1985 to current - with no embargo.
Sage Premier Journals
A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal content from Sage Publishing.
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
A leading scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 9.5 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year. Covers the areas of: Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences. While some full text is available, Science Direct is primarily a citation database.
Other Research Tools
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, and are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care. They may either investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation, or alternatively may assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting. A unique feature of Cochrane Reviews is that they are living documents in that they are updated with new evidence that emerges.
Films on Demand
Streaming video for more than 26,000 films including:
Humanities & Social Sciences Collection
Business & Economics Collection
||Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, WV 26201