Health care refers to services provided by medical professionals aimed at promoting physical and mental welfare, through the prevention, treatment, and management of illness
Modern medicine emerged in the nineteenth century, when the development of the germ theory of disease, the discovery of anesthesia to control the pain of surgery, and improved sanitation began to curb the horrors of infectious diseases.
Nursing is a discipline that is critical to the health and welfare of all nations and the backbone of any health care system. Without a sufficient supply of nurses to care for the public’s needs, the public’s health is at risk.
From Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing Guidelines setting out how a healthcare professional should fulfil their role, duties, obligations and responsibilities
Vital signs, by definition, are a person’s temperature, pulse, respiration rate, and blood pressure (BP). These signs reflect the status of a person’s circulatory, respiratory, neurological, and endocrine functions.
Hospitals are the centerpiece of U.S. healthcare. Hospitals are multipurpose healthcare institutions. They provide a place for physicians and other clinicians to treat patients, for special diagnostic and treatment services, and for emergency care services.
The nursing home industry remains an important part of the health care continuum, providing housing and health care services to more than 1.5 million older adults in the United States
From Nursing leadership Founded in 1969, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for baccalaureate and higher degree programs in nursing.
From The Encyclopedia of Elder Care the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations, and its organizational affiliates
From Mosby's dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health professions A national professional organization of emergency department nurses that defines and promotes emergency nursing practice.
From Bailliere's Midwives' dictionary Organisation designated by statute to regulate nursing, midwifery, health visiting professions in UK in order to protect public
From Nursing leadership The Nursing Organizations Alliance, also known as The Alliance, was created on November 17, 2001, with the merger of the National Federation for Specialty Nursing Organizations and the Nursing Organizations Liaison Forum
From Encyclopedia of nursing research As a specialty within the nursing profession, emergency nursing encompasses care of individuals across the life span, seeking help for perceived or actual physical or emotional alterations of health that require emergent or nonemergent interventions
From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions A registered nurse qualified by advanced study in an accredited program in the specialty of nurse anesthesia to manage patient care during the administration of anesthesia in selected surgical situations.
From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions A registered nurse who has advanced education in nursing (a master’s of science in nursing) and clinical experience in a specialized area of nursing practice. They collaborate with other health care providers to deliver primary care to patients.
From The Columbia Encyclopedia Health-care professional who provides patient services ranging from taking medical histories and doing physical examinations to performing minor surgical procedures
From Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions A nurse who has graduated from an accredited school of nursing and has been registered and licensed to practice by a state authority.
From Encyclopedia of nursing research The goal of palliative care is to prevent and relieve suffering and to support the best possible quality of life for patients and their families, regardless of the stage of the disease or the need for other therapies.
Contact Us
E-mail general inquiries and reference requests to:
