LibGuides: Nursing: Books

Nursing and Health Science Books

The Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library maintains a sizeable collection of nursing and health science book titles in print. Depending on the content, these titles may be located in a variety of locations and are searchable via the library catalog (see search box below):

*Book Locations*
Subject	Item Location	Call Number Range
Reference Texts (Encyclopedias, Manuals)	Reference Room - 1st Floor	Various - 610s
Medicine and Health	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	610.
Human Anatomy, Cytology, Histology	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	611.
Human Physiology	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	612.
Personal Health/Safety	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	613.
Forensic Medicine; Incidence of Injuries, Wounds, Disease; Public Preventative Medicine	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	614.
Pharmacology and Therapeutics	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	615.
Diseases	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	616.
Surgery, Regional Medicine, Dentistry, Opthomology, Otology, Audiology	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	617.
Gynecology, Obstetrics, Pediatrics, Geriatrics	Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor	618.

Nursing Titles

Churchill Livingstone's Dictionary of Nursing
Provides in-depth coverage of a variety of topics in A-Z entries and appendices. Entries have been carefully edited and illustrations selected to give a true nursing focus.
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
This classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year", The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice.
Key Concepts in Nursing
Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.
Nursing Leadership
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.

Encyclopedias

Epilepsy A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
Epilepsy A-Z is a unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference
The Encyclopedia of Aging
The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care is a state-of-the-art resource featuring nearly 300 articles. Topics include acute and chronic disease, home care including family-based care provisions, nursing home care, rehabilitation, health promotion, disease prevention, education, case management, social services, assisted living, advance directives, palliative care, and much more.
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
Experts from around the globe have been selected to present interdisciplinary coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more. Entries are conveniently organized into subcategories in order to provide the most in-depth coverage of each subject.

Women's Health

The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health by Karen J. Carlson, Stephanie A. Eisenstat, and Terra Ziporyn
This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health by Sana Loue and Martha Sajatovic
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
Dr. Susan Love’s Breast Book
Dr. Susan Loves Breast Book has long been the bible for the newly diagnosed. In this completely revised fifth edition, it also becomes a guide for those at risk of getting breast cancer, survivors interested in the consequences of their treatment, and anyone who wants to understand the new research about how the local environment influences the manifestations and treatments of many different kinds of breast cancer.
Women's Health Care in Advanced Practice Nursing
This book is the ideal tool to help graduate level nursing students expand their understanding of women's health care and wellness issues.
Bailliere's Midwives' Dictionary
The dictionary of choice for student midwives and practitioners, this reference provides a thorough and reliable first point of information.

Medical Dictionaries

American Heritage Medical Dictionary
A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.
Black's Medical Dictionary, 42nd Edition
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Collins Dictionary of Medicine
Contains entries on the theory and practice of medicine, including pharmacology, virology, psychiatry and dentistry. Also includes terminology relevant to nursing, radiography, orthoptics, laboratory and operating theatre technology, forensic and social medicine, and public health administration.
Dictionary of Medical Terms
A well-known reference guide, Barron's Dictionary of Medical Terms has been valued, used, and highly praised by medical instructors, student nurses, and others in the healthcare professions.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Comprehensive biomedical dictionary that reflects standard and current terminology derived from medicine and related disciplines. Includes images and audio pronunciations.
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Presents accurate definitions for the medical acronyms and abbreviations that are used today.
Mosby's Dental Dictionary
Definitions include all areas of dentistry, basic, clinical and behavioral sciences, terms related to office management, and commonly used medical terms.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
A combination of relevant, thorough definitions and vibrant color illustrations and line drawings that illuminate all subject areas.
Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary
An invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options. Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.

Medicine

Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by Kenneth F. Kiple
An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.
Key Concepts in Public Health
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.
SAGE Key Concepts Series: Key Concepts in Health Studies
Key Concepts in Health Studies provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.

Anatomy and Physiology

Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.
Dictionary of Optometry and Visual Science
Includes succinct, understandable definitions, extensive tables and illustrations, and practical clinical advice as well as many new entries on pathology, pharmacology, investigative techniques, refractive surgery, contact lenses and visual perception.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Search the Library Catalog

Contact Us

E-mail general inquiries and reference requests to:

librarian@wvwc.edu

Circulation Desk: 304.473.8013

Staff Directory