Friends of the Library: Current Opportunities

Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library welcomes financial donations to support collections, services, and programming. Monetary donations should be made to:

Friends of the WVWC Library
West Virginia Wesleyan College
59 College Ave.
Buckhannon, West Virginia 26201

Or make a donation online, designating your gift for the Friends of the Library.

Unrestricted financial gifts allow us great flexibility to support the work of the library's collections and services, but donations can be designated for a specific subject area or for specific library services. Contributions to Friends of the Library are an excellent way to honor a special faculty member, friend, or family member. Donors are invited to designate items in memory or in honor of someone, and a bookplate will be placed in each book recognizing the donor and the and the honoree.

The Annie Merner Pfeiffer Library gratefully accepts donations of library materials as well as gifts of financial support, in keeping with its gift policies. Books, media materials, and other items may be delivered to the Library at any time. Please bring a printed and completed copy of the Donation Form with your materials.  Those wishing to donate materials for the College Archives or other Special Collections should use Archives/Special Collections Donation form.  Donors with large collections or unique materials are urged to consult with the Director of Library Services or the College Archivist before delivering any items. While we can use materials related to any area of the curriculum, we are especially seeking help in building our collection of West Virginia and Appalachian materials.

• Shifting library collections
• Inventory of the collection
• Pages In Time
  • Fill in timelines
  • research topics about the history of WVWC
  • Scanning photographs and documents in the Archives
• Share your expertise with us for collection development purposes
• Shelf Reading (to make sure that everything is where it should be)

• Creating animated tutorials and other media projects to help get the word out about resources and services
• Create materials (pamphlets, webpages, quizzes, bulletin boards, displays, etc.) to help spread the word about resources and services
• Interviews with Library Staff and Library Friends for distributing via social media
• Process Archival Collections
• Research and write about WVWC History
• West Virginia United Methodist Archives - help to index materials, scan documents and photograph items to be included in Pages in Time
• Writing articles for a library newsletter